Engaged Without Gluten

He proposed! I knew it was coming at some point. I had no idea when. I knew he had talked to my dad and asked for his blessing. I still didn’t know when.

It was Wednesday evening before thanksgiving. My parents were scheduled to arrive in approximately 45 minutes. I was rushing around getting dinner ready and getting myself dressed because I had postponed showering until later in the day to get other things done first. I had just gotten dressed and finished fixing my hair, and I was standing in front of my jewelry table picking out what to wear (I sell jewelry so I have a LARGE selection.)

“Should I wear this necklace?” I asked.

“No, this one would look better,” he replied as he walked up behind me.

“Ok, what else?” I asked.

“Why don’t you wear this?” He asked as he reached his arm around so I could see the ring box.

I’m lucky I didn’t strangle him considering how quickly I swung around to wrap my arms around his neck. I kissed him before he had a chance to say the words, but then he said it, “Will you marry me?”

I’m not even sure what my response was at this point. It was somewhere along the lines of “Yes!” or “Of course!” or “Absolutely!”

I was so busy holding him and kissing him and being held by him and being kissed by him that it was probably 5 minutes before I even looked at the ring for a second time. It’s stunning! It’s simple, yet unique. It looks perfect on my finger. It’s exactly what I wanted with a little bit of personalization thrown in so that it is uniquely mine.

Now I get to plan a wedding. A 100% gluten-free wedding. I’m convinced it can be done even though we don’t live in a major metropolitan city. There are no dedicated gluten free bakeries here, and I will accept nothing less for my cake.

Did I mention we are currently planning on June 8, 2013? 194 days to go 😉

About datingwithoutgluten

I was diagnosed with Celiac Disease in March of 2008. Since then, I've come to realize others may need help when it comes to "dating without gluten," so here I am, 4 years later--here to help! ;) Follow me through the world of online-dating and my laughable attempts to actually meet someone in "real life"--all without gluten. I'll admit I tend to be a bit long-winded, but maybe that one insignificant detail will be significant to someone who needs it. Please feel free to laugh at me--I've probably laughed at each of the stories I'm going to tell anyway.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment