Evolution of Date #2

9:15pm I’m not sure I want to be here. I’m kind of annoyed. I said I’d be available between 8:15 and 8:45. I texted him at 8:45 to let him know I was leaving for the restaurant we agreed on and would be there in 10 minutes.

I received a text 15 minutes later that he was leaving in two minutes. Really?!? Sigh… He works at least 10 minutes from here, so maybe I was expecting too much, but I thought he’d be ready.

I think I’m cranky I think it’s been a really long day and I should have not scheduled a date. I think maybe I’m not interested enough in him to be going on a date, much less on a day that I’d rather just go home and go to bed because I’m exhausted.

11:00pm I just got home. Maybe it was the wine, but I had a great time. I was actually happy to see him when he arrived even though I had just set my phone down after writing my cranky entry above. I’m gonna take care of some stuff around the house and see how I feel then.

11:30pm Dogs are walked, mail is in, blah, blah, blah. I’m not as intrigued with B as I was when I was driving home/got home, but I’m definitely more interested than I was before. I was kind of surprised at my reaction when he showed up. It wasn’t a forced smile, it was an actual genuine smile that came naturally. As usual, neither one of us could shut up during dinner, although I think I did the majority of the talking because I had such a busy day, and I should have taken a little time to wind down and/or talked to a friend to get all the “jibber-jabber” out of my system.

Long story short, when we left (well after closing time after our waiter said we could stick around as long as we wanted), he gave me a hug goodnight at my car. After we talked for a few more minutes, he said he felt awkward asking, but he didn’t know if kissing me could make me sick. He hadn’t eaten the bread the restaurant serves, but he had lasagna for dinner.

I don’t know. Maybe that’s what really won me over tonight. I told him I had discussed that with my friend yesterday, and that unfortunately I could not kiss him. He said he was going to kiss me the other night until he was about to and realized he had been eating bread.

The guy deserves credit for doing a good job of “getting it.” He said he would remember that what he eats could affect me, and said he’d happily settle for a second hug.

Who knows…maybe I do like the guy. Or maybe the waiter overpoured my wine. Or maybe it’s a combination of both. Date #3 should be Thursday. I guess we’ll see what happens then.

About datingwithoutgluten

I was diagnosed with Celiac Disease in March of 2008. Since then, I've come to realize others may need help when it comes to "dating without gluten," so here I am, 4 years later--here to help! ;) Follow me through the world of online-dating and my laughable attempts to actually meet someone in "real life"--all without gluten. I'll admit I tend to be a bit long-winded, but maybe that one insignificant detail will be significant to someone who needs it. Please feel free to laugh at me--I've probably laughed at each of the stories I'm going to tell anyway.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment